A new star in the violin sky
Wed 02.04 7.30 p.m. Klassik Abo Plus

A new star in the violin sky

Sebastian Bohren plays with London Mozart Players

Buy tickets

CHF 70.– / 60.– / 40.–
concession tickets starting at CHF 15.–

Klassik Abo Plus:
20% Discount for subscribers of the Zuger Klassik Abo

Introduction at 6:45. p.m. (German)


Who will come along?

Add to the calendar

export ical

Switzerland-born violinist Sebastian Bohren is a wonderful addition to the international classic scene. His highly-sensitive style, with all of its technical refinements, allows him to penetrate even the most hidden strands of the music’s texture. His charismatic performances are guaranteed to move the audience every time.

 The London Mozart Players, conducted by Jonathan Bloxham, are one of the most highly-reputed orchestras in the United Kingdom. Bloxham is an expert in his craft, conducting with precision and boundless energy.

 The programme for the evening is also a fascinating one. The concert will begin with a moving «Lachrimae» by John Dowland – a composer who held the world in awe some 400 years ago. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s scintillating «Violin concerto No. 3 in G Major» is also on the agenda, after «Symphony No. 2 in D Major» by Chevalier de Saint-Georges – a piece from the Caribbean colonial art scene of the 18th century. The composer was known as much for his violin virtuosity and compositions as for his swordsmanship. He thrilled Paris with his genius and later came to be known as the «Black Mozart». The concert is brought to a joyful conclusion with Vaughan Williams’ spring anthem «Lark Ascending» and Mozart’s equally uplifting «Symphony in A Major».

Musical direction: Jonathan Bloxham
Violine: Sebastian Bohren
With: London Mozart Players

John Dowland (1563 – 1626)
Lachrimae Antiquae (arr. Ruisi)

Chevalier de Saint-Georges (1745 – 1799)
Sinfonie Nr. 2 in D-Dur op. 11

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791)
Violinkonzert Nr. 3 in G-Dur KV 216

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 – 1958)
Lark Ascending

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791)
Sinfonie Nr. 29 in A-Dur KV 201

Book your Zug Klassik Abo and receive a 20% discount on all other classical music concerts. You can find all information here.

Looking for more of the same?

Sat 14.09 7.30 p.m.

Cirque Aïtal: Pour le meilleur et pour le pire

Contemporary circus from France

Sun 22.09 5.00 p.m.

Hommage et virtuosité

Zuger Sinfonietta & Marie-Ange Nguci