Spiegelbild des Lebens
Sat 14.12 7.30 p.m. ZUGER KLASSIK ABO #2

Spiegelbild des Lebens

Zuger Sinfonietta & Christian Schmitt

Abo kaufen

The Zuger Klassik Abo is available for booking now. Single tickets will be available from Tue 20.08.

CHF 70.– / 60.– / 40.–
concession tickets starting at CHF 15.–

Recommended age: 8+
Duration: 100 minutes incl. intermission

Introduction at 6:45 p.m. (German)


Who will come along?

Add to the calendar

export ical

Christian Schmitt is absolutely among the most sought-after concert organists in the world, and for his performances with the Zuger Sinfonietta, he even brings his instrument with him. On his mighty mobile organ, hear him get the very best out of Händel’s organ concerto and Francis Poulenc’s monumental concerto for organ, strings and timpani. The latter work oscillates between deep mourning and great joy, reflecting both the vagaries of life and the psychology of Poulenc himself.

A lesser-known yet highly recommended work is Guillaume Lekeu’s heavily mournful Adagio, composed as he looked to come to terms with the death of his teacher, the famous César Franck, who was killed in a car accident in 1890. What sets this piece apart is that there are solos not only for violin but also viola and cello. The evening then moves seamlessly onto Händel’s «Concerto grosso op. 6 No. 10», which pitches a small collection of instruments against an entire orchestra. Prior to that, we begin proceedings with the Suite from Händel’s first opera – «Almira» – as a curtain-raiser to a pre-Christmas combination of the best of Baroque and Modern.

Direction: Daniel Huppert
Organ: Christian Schmitt
With: der Zuger Sinfonietta

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759)
Suite aus der Oper «Almira, Königin von Kastilien» HWV 1

Georg Friedrich Händel
Concerto grosso d-Moll op. 6 Nr. 10 HWV 328

Georg Friedrich Händel
Konzert für Orgel und Orchester g-Moll op. 4 Nr. 3 HWV 291

Guillaume Lekeu (1870–1894)
Adagio pour quatuor d’orchestre

Francis Poulenc (1899–1963)
Konzert für Orgel, Streicher und Pauke g-Moll FP93

The «Zuger Klassik Abo», a collaboration between the Theater Casino Zug | TMGZ and the Zuger Sinfonietta, brings top-class soloists and varied programmes of the highest standard to Zug. Following the successful first season of the subscription, the Zuger Sinfonietta will once again be presenting carefully compiled music in four concerts this year, ranging from George Frideric Handel to Saint-Saëns and Poulenc to a world premiere by Swiss composer David Philip Hefti. Four internationally renowned musicians will perform as soloists, and the concerts will be conducted by chief conductor Daniel Huppert.

Further information and book your subscription here

Book your «Zuger Klassik Abo» and receive a 20% discount on all other classical concerts with the «Zuger Klassik Abo Plus». The classical music programme of the Theater Casino Zug will be published on Thursday, 13 June.

Looking for more of the same?

Sat 14.09 7.30 p.m.

Cirque Aïtal: Pour le meilleur et pour le pire

Contemporary circus from France

Sun 22.09 5.00 p.m.

Hommage et virtuosité

Zuger Sinfonietta & Marie-Ange Nguci