Roaring sounds
Sun 16.03 5.00 p.m. ZUGER KLASSIK ABO #3

Roaring sounds

Zuger Sinfonietta & Kris Garfitt

Abo kaufen

The Zuger Klassik Abo is available for booking now. Single tickets will be available from Tue 20. August 2024

CHF 70.– / 60.– / 40.–
concession tickets starting at CHF 15.–

Recommended age: 8+
Duration: 100 minutes incl. intermission

Introduction at 4:15 p.m.

Encore - Talk after the performance


Who will come along?

Add to the calendar

export ical

In the third Zuger Klassik season concert, the much-neglected (when it comes to solos) trombone is the hero. Charismatic young Brit Kris Garfitt, winner of the famous ARD Music Competition and first solo trombone-player at the WDR Symphony Orchestra, is bringing us two very different works. The first is Carl Maria von Weber’s emotionally charged Concertino (a testament to the search for personal expression from the Romantic period). The other is a vibrant Suite by Prague composer Erwin Schulhoff, inspired by dadaism and jazz. After the post-First-World-War dissolution and from the Roaring Twenties onwards, his music continued to pick up new impulses, and was classed as «degenerate» by the Third Reich. Schulhoff died in 1941 in an internment camp in Bavaria, having been arrested when trying to leave for the Soviet Union. Those two pieces will be topped and tailed by Haydn’s «Farewell symphony» – in protest at the working conditions in the court, the musicians leave their seats one by one at the end of the symphony – and Dvořák’s «American suite», linking the old continent with the new world, in particular since Dvořák was director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York from 1892 – 1895.

Direction: Daniel Huppert 
Trombone: Kris Garfitt
With the: Zuger Sinfonietta

Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)
Sinfonie Nr. 45 fis-Moll Hob. I:45 «Abschiedssinfonie»

Carl Maria von Weber (1786–1826)
Concertino für Klarinette und Kammerorchester Es-Dur op. 26 (Bearbeitung für Posaune und Kammerorchester)

Erwin Schulhoff (1894–1942)
«Hot»-Suite (Bearbeitung für Posaune und Kammerorchester)

Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904)
Amerikanische Suite A-Dur op. 98 B. 184 (Bearbeitung für Kammerorchester)

The «Zuger Klassik Abo», a collaboration between the Theater Casino Zug | TMGZ and the Zuger Sinfonietta, brings top-class soloists and varied programmes of the highest standard to Zug. Following the successful first season of the subscription, the Zuger Sinfonietta will once again be presenting carefully compiled music in four concerts this year, ranging from George Frideric Handel to Saint-Saëns and Poulenc to a world premiere by Swiss composer David Philip Hefti. Four internationally renowned musicians will perform as soloists, and the concerts will be conducted by chief conductor Daniel Huppert.

Further information and book your subscription here

Book your «Zuger Klassik Abo» and receive a 20% discount on all other classical concerts with the «Zuger Klassik Abo Plus». The classical music programme of the Theater Casino Zug will be published on Thursday, 13 June.

Looking for more of the same?

Sat 14.09 7.30 p.m.

Cirque Aïtal: Pour le meilleur et pour le pire

Contemporary circus from France

Sun 22.09 5.00 p.m.

Hommage et virtuosité

Zuger Sinfonietta & Marie-Ange Nguci